Thorpe Salvin \ Netherthorpe

Thorpe Salvin \ Netherthorpe

Thorpe Salvin\Netherthorpe, Turnerwood. Population c 400(1991 census)Click here for 1948 map

The name Thorpe has Norse roots and is derived from Torp or outlying farmstead. Thorpe Salvin and Nether-thorpe are quiet communities very close to the Notts\Derbyshire border with South Yorks. Mentioned in the Domesday book as part of Roger De Busli’s Laughton estate, possibly as Rynkenild Thorp, for its place on the ancient Rynkenild Street highway (also once a Roman road on the same track as modern Packman Lane, and said to be haunted by a squad of eternally marching ghostly Roman soldiers!). In 1315 one Anketyne Salvin was recorded as one of the lords of Thorpe Salvin – hence Thorpe Salvin.

Thorpe fell under the ownership of the Sandford family, one of whom deserted Richard III at the Battle of Bosworth to join Henry Tudor. He chose the right side and was rewarded with among, other things, 12 quick does from the royal park at Conisborough (where the castle still stands – see the area history page) to stock his park at Thorp. In 1570 he built a Manor House, the ruins of which are shown below (Thorpe Hall).

These days Thorpe Salvin is pretty much a genteel dormitory villages for the local towns and cities, and a regular entrant to the Britain in Bloom competition.

Turnerwood is a tiny and picturesque hamlet of a dozen or so houses and farm buildings straddling the Chesterfield Canal about a mile north east of Thorpe Salvin.